Charles M. Marcus

Charles M. Marcus


Current Research Interests

Experimental condensed matter physics
Physical realizations of quantum information systems in semiconductors and superconductors
Topological materials, Majorana modes, and quantum information
Superconductor-semiconductor hybrid devices
Spin qubits and electron-nuclear interaction in qubits
Novel approaches to magnetic resonance imaging



  • IBM Postdoctoral Fellow,  Harvard University, 1990-1992

  • Ph.D. in Physics, 1990, Harvard University, Dissertation title: "Dynamics of Analog Neural Networks"
  • B.S. in Physics with Honors and Departmental Distinction, 1984, Stanford University


  • 2012-present Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
  • 2016-2021 Lab Director and Partner Research Manager, Microsoft Quantum
  • 2009–2010 Visiting Professor, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
  • 2000–2012 Professor, Department of Physics, Harvard University
  • 1999–2000 Associate Professor, Department of Physics, Stanford University
  • 1992–1999 Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, Stanford University

Professional Activities

  • Board, Wallenberg Centre for Quantum Technology, 2018- 
  • Advisory Board, Helen Diller Quantum Center, Technion, Israel 2021-
  • Director, Center for Quantum Devices (DNRF Center of Excellence), 2012-2019
  • Scientific Advisory Board, KTH Center for Quantum Materials, Stockholm, Sweden
  • External Advisory Board, CUNY Advanced Science Research Center, NY USA
  • Scientific Director, Harvard Center for Nanoscale Systems, 2004-2009
  • Site Director, National Nanofabrication Infrastructure Network, 2004-2009
  • Scientific Advisory Board, QSIT, Swiss Federal Science Foundation Research Center
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Freiburg Institute of Physics, Freiburg, Germany
  • Organizer, Simons Research Conferences, 2012, 2014
  • External Advisory Board, Georgia Tech MRSEC
  • Executive Advisory Board, QIST Grand Challenge, Sandia National Laboratories
  • External Board, Physics Frontier Center, Joint Quantum Institute, University of Maryland 2008-2011
  • Director, School on Nano-Electronics, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2006
  • Organizer, Aspen School on Interactions, Coherence & Control in Mesoscopic Systems, 2006
  • Advisory Board, Theory Institute, Argonne National Laboratory
  • EU Quantum Information Processing IRC International Advisory Group
  • Advisory Board, Massachusetts Nanotechnology Initiative
  • Series Editor, Mesoscopic Physics, Oxford University Press
  • Advisory Board, Wonderfest, A Festival of Science
  • Director, Workshop on Quantum Systems Out of Equilibrium, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2004
  • Director, Workshop on Mesoscopic Physics and Electron Interactions, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2001
  • Director, Extended Workshop on Mesoscopic Physics, ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 1998
  • Organizer, National Academy of Sciences "Frontiers of Science", 1995

Awards and Honors

  • H.C. Ørsted Gold Medal in Physics, 
    The Society for the Dissemination of Natural Science, 2020
  • Industry Prize, Danish Academy of Natural Sciences, 2019
  • Misel Family Lecturer, University of Minnesota, 2019
  • Einstein Colloquium, Weizmann Institute of Science, 2019
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2018
  • Meservey Lecturer, MIT, 2018
  • Chapman Lecturer, Rice University, 2018
  • Award for Research Excellence in Nanotechnology, University of Pennsylvania, 2014 
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2013
  • Foreign member, Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, 2012
  • Aalto Lectureship, University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland, 2010
  • Poynting Lectureship, University of Birmingham, Birmingham, UK, 2010
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 2009
  • AAAS Newcomb-Cleveland Prize, 2006
  • Ehrenfest Lecturer, Leiden University, 1997
  • N.S.F. Presidential Faculty Fellow/PECASE 1997
  • A.S.S.U. Teaching Award, Stanford University, 1996
  • A.R.O. Young Investigator Award, 1995
  • A. P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship, 1994
  • N.S.F. Young Investigator Award, 1994
  • O.N.R. Young Investigator Award, 1994
  • Terman Fellowship, Stanford University 1994
  • IBM Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1990
  • AT&T Bell Laboratories Ph.D. Scholarship, 1985
  • National finalist, Apker Award for Undergraduate Research in Physics, 1984
  • Rebecca L. Carrington Memorial Award, Physics Department, Stanford University, 1984
  • Member of Phi Beta Kappa, elected 1984
  • Fannie and John Hertz Foundation Scholarship, 1981



Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor

ID: 34319618