Principles for awarding the Niels Bohr Medal of Honour

1. The Niels Bohr Institute Medal of Honour is awarded to a scientist who has made exceptional and impactful contributions to basic research in physics including fundamental physics, astronomy, geophysics, biophysics and nanoscience.

2. The Medal of Honour is awarded to individuals whose contributions to science have had strong impact on research at the Niels Bohr Institute, and who have actively engaged with the Niels Bohr Institute during their career.

3. The Niels Bohr medal of Honour is awarded every second year if suitable candidates are found. The Niels Bohr Institute Management issues a call describing the process of nomination.

4. Candidates for the Niels Bohr Medal of Honour can be nominated by any scientist with employment at NBI. The nomination must be made in writing following the format pointed out in the call.

5. A nominee must be an active researcher with high impact peer reviewed publications within the last 10 years.

6. A nominee can not have his primary employment at or be an Emeritus of the Niels Bohr Institute. A scientist can only receive the Niels Bohr Medal of Honour once.

7. The decision about the recipient is taken by a scientific evaluation board appointed by the Niels Bohr Institute Management.

8. The Niels Bohr Medal of Honour consists of a silver medal designed by the sculptor Rikke Raben and printed by the Royal Danish Mint, accompanied by a diploma.

9. The Niels Bohr Medal of Honour is awarded at a ceremony, where the recipient gives a scientific lecture, at the Niels Bohr Institute or elsewhere in Copenhagen