Profile and history

The Department of Theoretical Physics at the University of Copenhagen (later the Niels Bohr Institute) was established in 1921 for Niels Bohr, who in 1913 created the groundbreaking atomic model that formed the basis for our understanding of how the world is structured, and later for quantum mechanics, which has revolutionized technological development.

It was Niels Bohr’s own initiative to established the institute, and it quickly became what it is today: a gathering place for scientists and a centre for scientific work, taking place in an open and progressive atmosphere. We are approximately 430 researchers, 70 administrative and technical staff, 100 PhD. students and 400 students.

Today, research is performed in many different disciplines at the Niels Bohr Institute. The many laboratories and research areas to which it houses, testify to an international experimental research environment with researchers from all over the world, researching in everything from climate, black holes and cancer research, to future quantum computers.

We believe that only through inclusion and diversity can one realize his or her full potential in a competitive, global research environment. Therefore, we have chosen to focus on openness, inclusion, and diversity. This contributes to realizing Niels Bohr's ambitions to conduct research and teaching at a high international level. We strive to develop a diverse workforce in a committed, innovative, and open-minded culture, where all employees are valued for their individual and unique differences.