Quantum Photonics

The Quantum Photonics Group investigates the quantum interaction between light and matter in a solid-state platform.

Our quest is to develop a deterministic photon-emitter interface based using quantum emitters and photonic nanostructures for real-world quantum technology applications within quantum communication towards the Quantum Internet.

Quantum Photonics at the Niels Bohr Institute Quantum Photonics at the Niels Bohr Institute Quantum Photonics at the Niels Bohr Institute Quantum Photonics at the Niels Bohr Institute Quantum Photonics at the Niels Bohr Institute

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Megabevilling til kvantesimulatorer viser, at grundforskning lønner sig.
Large grant for quantumsimulators shows that fundamental research pays off.
Article (in Danish) on our new center Solid-state quantum simulators for biochemistry.

"Den interne proces var ekstrem. Vild og blodig."
"The internal process was extreme. Wild and bloody."
Profile (in Danish) of recent recognitions and scientific accomplishments by Prof. Peter Lodahl and his Quantum Photonics research group.

Danske forskere baner vejen for fremtidens computer.
Danish researchers pave the way for future computer.
Article (in Danish) on our recent effors towards implementing quantum technology.

Building the Quantum Internet.
Interesting article on how a solid-state material based quantum internet could be realized:

Chiral quantum optics, Nature (2017).
Highlighted in more than 25 news stories in scientific and general online magazine. Here are some examples:

Deterministic photon-emitter coupling in chiral photonic circuits, Nature Nanotechnology (2015).

Nonuniversal intensity correlations in a two-dimensional Anderson-localizing random medium, Physical Review Letters 109, 253902 (2012).

Optical cavity cooling of mechanical modes of a semiconductor nanomembrane, Nature Physics 8, 168-172 (2012).

Strongly Modified Plasmon-Matter Interaction with Mesoscopic Quantum Emitters, Nature Physics 7, 215-218 (2011).

Quantum Interference and Entanglement Induced by Multiple Scattering of Light, Phys. Rev. Lett. 105, 090501 (2010).

Cavity quantum electrodynamics with Anderson-localized modes, Science 327, 1352 (2010).

Observation of Spatial Quantum Correlations Induced by Multiple Scattering of Nonclassical Light, Phys. Rev. Lett. 102, 193901 (2009).

Podcast

  • Christiansen & Andersen, Lyset

Popular papers

1) P. Lodahl, At kontrollere udsendelsen af lys (in Danish), Aktuel Naturvidenskab 4, 15-17 (2004).

2) P. Lodahl and W. L. Vos, Controlling spontaneous emission with photonic crystals, Photonics Spectra 39 (3): 64+ MAR (2005).

3) P. Lodahl, Lys i fotoniske krystaller og optiske nanobokse (in Danish), Naturens Verden 1, p. 29-35 (2006).

4) P.T. Kristensen, P. Lodahl, and J. Mørk, To decay or not to decay – or both! Quantum mechanics of spontaneous emission, DOPS Nyt 1, p. 4-8 (2008).

 

The Quantum, Photonics group is part of the Quantum Optics section at NBI and collaborates to a large extend with the other theoretical and experimental groups in the section. 

Peter Lodahl
Professor
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 32 53 06
E-mail: lodahl@nbi.ku.dk
CV and Short bio
List of publications

Leonardo Midolo
Associate p
rofessor
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 23 23 41 69
E-mail: midolo@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page


Alexey Tiranov
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 33 51 39
E-mail: alexey.tiranov@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Beatrice da Lio
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: +45 35 32 74 42
E-mail: beatrice.lio@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Freja Thilde Pedersen
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: +45 35 32 82 67
E-mail: FrejaThilde@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Rodrigo Thomas
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Shikai Liu
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Sofie Lindskov Hansen
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Stefano Paesani
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone: +45 35 33 63 86
E-mail: stefano.paesani@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Yijian Meng
Postdoc
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Ying Wang
Post Doc
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. F
Phone: +45 35 33 14 04
E-mail: ying.wang@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Asli Dilara Ugurlu
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: 
E-mail: asli.ugurlu@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Atefeh Shadmani 
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone: +45 35 33 44 39
E-mail: shadmani@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Camille Papon
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 33 32 02
E-mail: camille.papon@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Carlos Fernando Duarte Faurby
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Celeste Qvotrup
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Martin Hayhurst Appel
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: 
E-mail: martin.appel@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Ming Lai Chan
PhD fellow 
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: +45 71 45 61 67
E-mail: Ming-Lai.Chan@nbi.ku.dk 

Nils Valentin Hauff
PhD fellow 
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. H
Phone: +45 35 33 11 48
E-mail: nils.hauff@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Patrik Isene Sund
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. F
Phone: +45 35 32 12 90
E-mail: patrik.sund@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Vasiliki Angelopoulou
PhD fellow
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. F
Phone: +45 35 32 50 44
E-mail: angelopulou@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Mikkel Thorbjørn Mikkelsen
Research assistant
Blegdamsvej 17
Phone:
E-mail: 
Personal page

Martin Saurbrey Bjergfelt
Academic lab technician
Juliane Maries Vej 30
Phone: +45 35 33 08 46
E-mail: martin.bjergfelt@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Zhe Liu
Academic lab technician, Engineer 
Universitetsparken 5, HCØ
Phone: +45 35 33 05 20
E-mail: zhe.liu@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page


Master students
Arianne Stenberg Brooks
Georgia Anyfantaki
Hania Salamon
Kasper Hede Nielsen
Love Petterson
Nicolas Remy Høegh Pedersen
Sif Fugger


Frederik Uldall
Senior adviser
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 32 24 14
E-mail: frederik.uldall@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Charlotte Hviid
Administrative coordinator
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 32 52 54
E-mail: hviid@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Dorte Christiane Garde Nielsen
Research secretary
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
Phone: +45 35 33 01 80
E-mail: dorte.garde.nielsen@nbi.ku.dk
Personal page

Amalie Beate Albrechtsen
Student assistant
Blegdamsvej 17, Bld. T
E-mail: amalie.albrechtsen@nbi.ku.dk


Alumni

Hanna Le Jeannic
Post Doc
Email: hanna.lejeannic@nbi.ku.dk

Jacques Johannes Carolan
Post Doc

Nir Rotenberg
Assistant professor

Ravitej Uppu
Assistant professor
Email: ravitej.uppu@nbi.ku.dk

Xiao-Liu Chu
Post Doc

Xiaoyan Zhou
Assistant professor
E-mail: xiaoyan_zhou@tju.edu.cn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Openings:

1) PhD position openings within the Hy-Q project. Read more about the positions here.

2) Senior postdoc and/or assistant/associate professor positions within a broad area of competences:
a) Photonic quantum simulation and quantum computing.
b) Photonic quantum networks and quantum communication with single photons.
 Read more about the positions here.

Peter Lodahl

Group leader

Peter Lodahl, Professor
Phone: 35 32 53 06
Email: lodahl@nbi.ku.dk